Organised Chaos.. WOYWW

I’m sure that Wednesday’s are popping up every fourth day lately. Surely it cannot be a whole week between them..

Here’s my desk as of ten minutes ago. It’s not exactly tidy, but it’s a darn sight better than it was!

20120619-164941.jpg

Currently drying (on a baking tray!) are 90+ silver hearts coated in the first coat of glossy accents. Around 50 invite envelopes in the first stage of assembly, and a myriad of other crap useful items.

I’m supposed to have all 100 invites completed by the end of the month. The new delivery date was a complete surprise to be honest, and I’m not overly impressed. Surely when you’re getting something done for free, you smile and say thank you, not I need them in two weeks but you need to change EVERYTHING from what you originally agreed to do! She’s not getting married until late October! Sigh.

In brighter news, I have goodies!

20120619-165547.jpg

I also have a brand new K-Mix stand mixer, thanks to my hubby, so I imagine my desk shots may include cakes.. Or crumbs at least! Cake making and baking in general has always been my first love so it’s wonderful to have a good excuse to get back to it. I’m sure that’s why my cake loving husband bought me the mixer!

Finally, some amazing news! My beautiful baby girl started walking! She walked the length of our living room to reach her daddy.. On Fathers day! What an amazing gift for him!
Anyhoo, head on over to Julia’s place to see lots of creative spaces.

See you next week.

68 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathinwesthill
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 07:47:21

    thanks for today’s crafty snoop…loving all your glossy accent hearts and you are going to have so much fun playing with Dyan’s gorgeous stamps…perhaps we should get Buddy and your daughter together…I’m sure they would be happy to keep other company at 5.00am…hugs kath xxx

    Reply

  2. Rachel KatzElbows
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 09:18:59

    You’re making 100 gorgeous invitations and someone is being a pain? Need me to come and kick their ass? Because I will. Seriously, that’s just rude.

    On to more important things, what kind of cakes will you be making? Because kicking someone’s ass makes me hungry!

    Thank you for saying nice things about my little ATCs. I always think my handdrawn stuff is crappy, so it means a lot when people are nice about them!

    cheers, rachel #19

    Reply

  3. VonnyK
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 09:35:42

    Some people don’t deserve to have freebies, how rude are they. Oh please don’t tease us with pics of crumbs, we have to see the whole cake. How wonderful that your little one can walk and on fathers day too. Love all those important milestones.
    Have a great week.
    Von #28

    Reply

  4. sandra de
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 09:55:56

    Ohh your hearts look good enough to eat and then i realised they were for the invites. Great that your little one walked to her dad. Lovely pic of all your goodies.
    Sandra @32

    Reply

  5. Hazel
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 10:23:48

    Hope you get the invites done in time. Love the new goodies. Thanks for the opportunity of having a peep at your workspace – trying to make a few visits early this week! Hazel, WOYWW #87 x

    Reply

  6. Anne Rx
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:06:05

    I love the way your hearts are on a baking sheet, great diversity going on there. Shame about the person and the invites, maybe you should say, if you want them for then, then I will have to charge you! How lovely that your baby walked on Father’s day for the first time – it was a lovely gift for him……Happy WOYWW, Anne x #43

    Reply

  7. Ali Wade
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:14:58

    Happy WOYWW and thanks for visiting me earlier. I thought those hearts were biscuits when I first saw them – made me hungry! There is so much ingratitude today, which is why I do not make wedding stationery or other large commissions – want to enjoy my crafting. Wonderful that your daughter walked for the first time on Fathers Day – no stopping her now. Ali x #61

    Reply

  8. ukmaryanne
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:17:49

    The invite will be very special, but seriously? So demanding for generous freebies. Bridezilla? Perhaps πŸ™‚ Looking forward to the final reveal.

    Happy WOYWW

    Mary Anne (4)

    Reply

  9. BJ
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:23:59

    YAY another TH Summer set person – the rest of your goodies are cool too. And well done to your DD for walking on Father’s day. Thanks for stopping by BJ#47

    Reply

  10. Miriam Grazier
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:35:26

    Fabulous stamps – thanks for sharing

    Reply

  11. sandy :)
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:49:11

    Love those colors have them on my must get list. Oh what a wonderful fathers day for your hubby to have your babies first steps. Wonderful memories. Thanks for the visit to my blog. Sandy πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. Sarn
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:04:10

    Well I like the look of that desk. Sheesh . . . I hope you manage the invitations in time!

    Happy Crafting.
    Thanks for visiting me. Happy WOYWW.

    Hugs
    Sarn #80 xxx

    Reply

  13. Morti
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:44:50

    Awww – bless your little one! Best Father’s Day present ever that! Love the stamps, Dylusions range is just fab, isn’t it?

    Did your ATC turn up hun?

    Morti #58

    Reply

  14. helen
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:50:11

    good luck with the invites and the hearts will be fab. great news about your little girl walking! and finally I LOVE your new stash…. very jealous… helen, 33

    Reply

  15. Erika
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:54:15

    Love those stamps mmm enjoy playing with them. Glad to hear Daddy got the best present with your little one walking…..no stopping now, you’ll be walking everywhere whether you like it or not…and very slowly. Enjoy they’re so cute at that age.
    Hugs Erika #83

    Reply

  16. Famfa
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:58:59

    What a shame you have to rush your invitations now. Great desk.
    Famfa 117

    Reply

  17. April
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 13:21:24

    Oh dear you’re certainly under pressure with the invites, good luck with those. You have some lovely new goodies there, have fun x April #100

    Reply

  18. RosC
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 13:27:22

    Oh yes please, tea and cakes…anything and cakes really. Good luck with invitations; without knowing the relationships concerned I guess “No can do” is not an option? You look fairly organised, and the patter of tiny feet will keep you out of mischief too. Thanks for your visit to mine.
    Cheers,
    Ros. #51

    Reply

  19. sian evans
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 13:32:10

    I am sure you will achieve great things in a short space of time, whats a little pressure for a creative genius huh!! lol
    Thanks for commenting on my humble little blog!! Sian woyww 112

    Reply

  20. Clare
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 13:48:28

    Fabulous hearts, bet they turn out fabulous!

    Reply

  21. Barb king
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 13:50:01

    Those are some nice new goodies, you will have lots of fun with those, I love her style of stamps, don’t have any yet. Thanks for stopping by my space. Barb

    Reply

  22. Jennifer Ingle
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 13:53:31

    Don’t you just hate waiting for stuff to dry? LOL! They look neat, though, that’s for sure! LOVING those stamps!!!!

    Reply

  23. twiglet
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 14:51:04

    What a fab Fathers Day gift!! So exciting isn’t it. Have a good week. x Jo #84

    Reply

  24. Annie
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 15:00:18

    Good luck with the invites. Hope everything goes to plan for you.
    Exciting news when little ones take their first steps and such a perfect day too πŸ™‚
    Hugs,
    A x #76

    Reply

  25. Helen
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 15:05:43

    A Fathers day gift never to be forgotten.

    Gorgeous goodies on your desk. I want them all!!! πŸ™‚ I put all my challenge tags on my wall too.

    Don’t work too hard on all the invites.

    Hugs from Helen 107

    Please pop to see Angenita (89) as she could do with a WOYWW hug today (pass it on)

    Reply

  26. Valerie Light
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 15:06:47

    That is a annoying when you are doing something out of the goodness of your heart to have someone have a since of “entitlement” instead of gratefulness. I’m sorry…That is totally exciting that your baby girl walked to Daddy on Father’s Day! That is an amazing gift! I’m trying really hard not to be envious of your crafting goodies! This is the second place I’ve seen the TH new seasonal inks! Valerie #55

    Reply

  27. Helen
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 15:07:38

    Forgot to say thanks for popping in to see me and….If you look up piano hinge binding you will definitely find a tutorial – I left a link on Mays comments (62) if that helps. It is easier than it looks.

    Reply

  28. Sophie
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 15:23:42

    wow, thats quite a production line you’ve got going on there, good luck with that!
    Sophie no.93

    Reply

  29. maryjo1997
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 15:24:17

    Oh my, I have to agree! I think for free I would be super, super grateful for anything. Even if I was paying πŸ™‚ Love those little hearts πŸ™‚
    Mary Jo #123

    Reply

  30. doone
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 15:39:28

    thank you for your kind comment,

    clients ALWAYS change their minds

    and then back again

    and some don’t pay

    live & learn

    choose who you work for…

    dxxxx

    Reply

  31. Rachel (Ravenous Rae)
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 15:41:24

    wow you are busy!! I hope the invitations go well! Happy WOYWW! *Rachel

    Reply

  32. Becky G.
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:01:10

    That’s a lot of silver hearts! Hope things get done on time πŸ™‚ Love all of your new goodies, especially those new stamps!! Congrats on your little one walking! How sweet that it was on Fathers Day!

    Reply

  33. kay
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:12:28

    good luck with the invites,not sure i could stick at it so well done and what a fab time for your daughter to start walking,thanks for visiting me
    have a fab crafty week
    kay #63

    Reply

  34. Laura (@Bookworm)
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:22:47

    Congratulations on this special milestone in your daughter’s life. πŸ™‚ Good luck with the invitations (sorry bride is being unreasonable and ungrateful) and the future cakes. Love the new goodies — wondering if you’re going to make the June Tim Holtz tag, based on a couple of the items! Thanks for visiting my blog. ~ Laura #127

    Reply

  35. Amanda Southern
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:25:35

    You have just given me another reason why I dont do wedding stationary for anyone. Flitterglu is brilliant, fantastic results everytime, I need to throw away all the other products I bought to gild with as this is by far the best. Enjoy you goodies.
    Amanda J @76 x

    Reply

  36. Sue H
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:42:09

    When I first looked at your picture Zoe, I thought that was a try of cookies you were showing us (typical me always thinking of my tummy) and that was before I had even read to the bottom of your post so I must have had a premonition about the food mixer……..strange!
    Good to know the wedding invitations are well on the go. I’ve had an email today regarding the evening ones I have to make so it’s full steam ahead now.

    Happy Crafting!
    Sue
    x
    #82
    Loving your new stash too!

    Reply

  37. butlersabroad
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:55:07

    How annoying, not to mention rude, to demand everything done, especially when they’re free! Lovely new goodies though, I’m seeing those new inks on lots of desks today, might have to look into that! Lovely life moment for your hubby and daughter too, bake a cake to celebrate, lol!

    Hugs
    Brenda 2

    PS You can have some of my heat if you want it!!

    Reply

  38. SeasideArt (Franka)
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 17:48:52

    Your desk looks very interesting with all these hearts. Hope to see the invitations when they are finished. Love the stamps you have in your goodies. They are great to play with. Thanks for sharing and have a crafty week. Bye, Franka

    Reply

  39. Mel
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 18:00:45

    …at first glance i thought they were heart shaped cookies on your desk until i got reading…loVing the look of all the yummy treats on your desk, those Dylusions look fab!…it’s so amazing when those first steps are taken and for them to be on Father’s Day is awesome…thanks for sharing and dropping by me…Mel πŸ™‚

    Reply

  40. LLJ
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 18:21:49

    Boo sucks to ungrateful people who should just appreciate the fact that you’re doing it for gratis anyway!! Hooray for new mixing machines – I have a Kitchenaid that was a treat a couple of years ago… I adore it, it’s bright red and makes the best cakes. Enjoy creating with yours πŸ™‚
    Hugs, LLJ #72 xx

    Reply

  41. Danielle
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 19:13:36

    Great little assembly line going with the hearts. Enjoy your mixer – i know that I love mine. dani22

    Reply

  42. amyis300
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 19:20:57

    Oh wow…good luck with the wedding invites and your new deadline. That does kind of suck that everything was changed after the fact…but you know how brides can be!

    Congrats on your baby girl walking for the first time! What a perfect Father’s Day present!!!

    Thanks for taking a peek at my work space this week!

    Amy E. #17
    scrapthissavethat.blogspot.com

    Reply

  43. may
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 19:42:53

    Bless you all that kindness and some brat wants to change everything!! cheek, I have just made… day invites , eve invites, order of service, favour gift boxes 100 of each… for my DD.. and every day she is sooooo grateful she helped me of course… your desk looks fab!!! and I’m sure your oven will too wiith all those fabby cakes you are about to make…. ps if she asks you to make the wedding cake tell her NO… (lol) Hugs May x x x x#62

    Reply

  44. Craftychris #114
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 21:20:51

    Wow you have a lot to do! I hope you get lots of thanks, especially for the late changes!!! Your new stash is fab especially those Dylusions stamps. Congrats on your daughters first steps and thank you for visiting my desk xx

    Reply

  45. Darnell J Knauss
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 22:15:28

    Hi Zoe, Thanks for coming to visit me! I’ve enjoyed my visit here. There are 44 commenters ahead of me and, sadly, I’ve no time to read them, but my guess is that you’ve gotten, oh, around 44 women ready to band together and slap that bridezilla! I would hate to have her nerve in my tooth!

    Speaking of tooth, afterwards we could all have a piece of delicious cake thanks to your hubby, eh? Yummo, and way to go, Hubster!

    And thanks for the share about the walking baby on Dad’s Day! What a treat!!

    All the best, Darnell #45

    Reply

  46. Angie ...aka Shozzy
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 23:11:43

    There is something about people who get something for free …thet dont appreciate the person giving the gift…..over the years I have suffered problems like you so i just dont do people that sort of favour any more. Good luck with your dead line. xx#9

    Reply

  47. Tracy Cook Swartz
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 23:28:35

    Congrats on your baby girl walking!!! Now the fun begins… keeping up with her once she gets used to those legs. Love the hearts! Thanks so much for visiting! Warmly, Tracy #105

    Reply

  48. Carol N
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 00:33:06

    Your baby girl will keep you on your toes now! And I’m interested in seeing your invites when you get them done. That’s a lot of hearts! And your stamps look like lots of fun! Thanks for visiting! Carol #129

    Reply

  49. Lisa Foreman Richards
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 01:31:50

    I may not understand everything you stampers do with your supplies, but it’s still fun to look at them! Thanks for visiting my desk! Lisa #41 πŸ™‚

    Reply

  50. enthusiasticallydawn
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 03:26:57

    Thanks for the visit! OK, weddings make people do weird things and expect really ridiculous things. I know from my own experience. Love that very productive desk! ANd congrats on first steps – so exciting!

    Reply

  51. dominodiva
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 06:25:09

    About 4th try – now I have a WordPress account this should work – tried everything else and signed up in the end.
    Great gift for Father’s Day – what a lovely thing for your daughter to give to her daddy.
    Your desk looks nice and neat but I am sorry about the invites – just bite your tongue and remember for the future.
    Hugs, and fingers crossed this posts – Neet

    Reply

  52. Ann B
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 09:34:38

    Shame about the invites, some people are just complete a*s*s, forget about that and thing about your baby girl’s first steps, a wonderful time. My Gdaughter is stubbornly not walking yet and she is 20 months – why walk when you can smile sweetly and get someone else to get it for you.
    Ann B
    #67

    Reply

  53. neesie23
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 12:32:51

    I can’t believe that some people can be so uncaring and thoroughly selfish. I’ve got to start organising my daughter’s wedding (for next May) so will keep this in mind ~ not that I’d ever behave like that.
    How wonderful that you’re daughter gave her Daddy the best present ever!
    Happy WOYWW ~ have lots of fun desk hopping πŸ˜€
    Neesie #26

    Reply

  54. mark
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 18:13:53

    happy late woyww, looks like you have your hands full craft wise at the mo. love the tick tick boom piece, very creative.
    thanks for stopping by, mark

    Reply

  55. Scrappymo!
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 19:00:48

    Oh my goodness the entitlement never ends with some!

    Great news about your little one walking on Fathers day…what a gift to her Dad!!!

    Reply

  56. Lisa M
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 19:15:26

    Some people can really take the Micky can’t they. You are not alone, I make Wedding cakes just for a hobby really but I’ve found lately people are becoming so demanding it’s no longer a pleasure and I don’t do it for a job so the next one will definitely be my last.
    How exciting that your daughter walked for her Daddy’s special day. Those moments are so precious. Enjoy every one.
    Happy WOYWW
    Hugs Lisax #103

    Reply

  57. Minxy
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 22:21:19

    Thanks for visiting my desk, Sorry i’m a bit late.
    Wedding stuff can be a nightmare at the best of times so to have them change everything on you especially when your doing in for nout is just poor show. TUT. Still at least you have some nice goodies to console yourself with.
    Hugz Minxy #11

    Reply

  58. Claire
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 09:53:09

    so sorry you’re being mucked about… i’m guessing they just don’t realize ALL the hard work AND time involved *sigh*
    but you have some new cute things to play with after the chaotic busyness has passed…
    and thanks for stopping by and leaving a lovely comment πŸ™‚
    no. 64

    Reply

  59. Shaz in Oz.x
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 11:40:06

    Hi there Zoe, ah so much fun here that mixmaster will be a treat in mooe ways than one πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for popping over and thanks for sharing ~ happy WOYWW! Shaz in Oz. x #25

    Reply

  60. belinda
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 17:03:16

    Zoe, thanks for stopping by my desk and listen to me whine a bit about my new glasses (that have yet to arrive).

    Well I love seeing all those hearts all out to drying. I enjoyed your post and as I was reading I was thinking what a great project she has there and then you said you were doing it for free — bless you girlfriend. The free ones can be the toughest customers.

    I hope you can share your finished product. See you next week.

    Belinda (110)

    Reply

  61. Lavinia
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 22:24:38

    Hope you get your heats done & dusted! They are going to be beautiful! And doing them for free too!!! Amazing! The rest of the desk looks creative too! At least you have a desk still…..I dont at the mo! 😦
    Lavinia#5

    Reply

  62. peggy aplSEEDS
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 02:28:43

    happy WOYWW! wow, what a delight to have your daughter walk to her dad right on Father’s day! what a precious memory and story to tell her! i’m curious about how you made the hearts!
    hugs, #15 peggy aplSEEDS

    Reply

  63. kyla
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 07:11:34

    Ooh….wedding invites…..my nemesis! Some lovely new bits of stash there, especially the dylusion stamps….love them, and what a great fathers day gift!

    Thanks for visiting my desk
    Kyla #74

    Reply

  64. Sue Kment
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 05:47:54

    Hello! A little late getting around this week! Wonderful goodies you have. I do not envy your 100 invite deadline though. congrats on your new little mobile baby…they are so fun at that age!

    Reply

  65. queenartoypia
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 07:15:10

    What a beautiful gift for her father, couldn’t of been timed better. I really feel for you when it comes the the deadlines that others impose, they just dont understand what goes into this stuff. Smile and try and be happy.

    Have a happy crafting week.
    Eliza #163

    Reply

  66. Zoe Young Kirkby (@CraftygasheadZo)
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 12:36:22

    Oh wow you are busy with those invites. Oh bless how sweet your little girl walking, I remember my boy at that age, seems like forever ago now! Take care, am snooping still on Sunday, late but determined to get round more than I have for a few weeks! Zo xx 73

    Reply

  67. fairy thoughts
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 19:26:49

    good luck with the invites I have just finished D2’s so I know how you feel, are you making the cake in your new mixer too
    janet … back from pisa #60

    Reply

  68. Bridget Larsen Australia
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 11:38:02

    Non crafty people just have no clue about how long it takes, sometimes you want to just get them to do it themselves and see how fast they can do it. Well you did a great job, good on you
    Bridget #28

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

