Compendium of Curiosities Challenge – Week 4

Wowzer, where do the weeks go? It’s week four of the wonderful Linda Ledbetter’s CC2C This week it’s the faded layers challenge, found on page 43.

Now, you’ll have to forgive me for the poor photography, I took most of the final shots around ten minutes ago, and as its 9:30 in the evening here, the light was not on my side.

I started by cutting a tag from white cardstock (actually, it was Glossy Paper and I used the back!) using Tim’s Tag and Bookplate die. I inked the tag using Tim’s new Spring Distress Inks. Oh my, I love those shades! I then created the faded layers background.

20120510-212732.jpg

20120510-212806.jpg

20120510-212839.jpg

I then spritzed the whole tag with Biscotti Perfect Pearl Mist.

20120510-212934.jpg

I then added grunge letters cut from Tim’s WordPlay die. I covered them in a scrap of paper from the Vintage Shabby paper stack, inked them with Squeezed Lemonade Distress Ink and sprayed them with a little Perfect Pearl Mist. I also distressed the edges with a little Gathered Twigs.

I then used individual letter stamps to stamp the word ‘Make’ onto the grunge letter ‘A’ using Black Archival Ink.

20120510-213303.jpg

I used the same letter stamps to add the words ‘To Breathe’ onto the centre circle of the clock fade.

20120510-213423.jpg

Next I inked a strip of Binding Seam with Peacock Feathers and Seedless Preserves Distress Inks and sprayed it with a little Perfect Pearl Mist before crumpling it and drying it with my Heat Tool before adding it to the tag.

20120510-213609.jpg

Fans of Tim Holtz will recognise the phrase I used ‘Make Time To Breathe’ from his blog. I love the phrase and it really struck a chord with me so i decided to use it for this tag, and as I was so pushed for time making this one, it’s a perfect sentiment!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorna
    May 10, 2012 @ 20:55:41

    Love it, especially the sentiment – so true! I’m surprised Tim has any breath left he does so much running HA! Anyway, great tag – very pretty and gorgeous colors.

    Reply

  2. Helen
    May 10, 2012 @ 21:01:42

    This is just beautiful! I love the new ink colours too….

    Reply

  3. missusg
    May 11, 2012 @ 00:49:17

    beautiful.. totally beautiful!

    Reply

  4. Linda Ledbetter
    May 15, 2012 @ 02:35:04

    Oh, how gorgeous!!! Zoe, your use of color is sensational, and the design is masterful. You ROCKED the faded layers technique!!!

    Reply

  5. claire
    May 16, 2012 @ 06:10:05

    what a gorgeous tag!! i sooooo want tim’s compendium book, but i’ve already spent my birthday pennies… *sigh*
    i always love to see how a piece comes together… thank you 🙂

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

