Compendium of Curiosities Challenge – Week Three

Well, I guess leaving it to the last minute is becoming a bit of a habit for me! I wish I could be more organised!

This weeks CC2C is use the Marbled Stains technique found on page 46 of Compendium of Curiosities 2 by Tim Holtz The generous folk over at Eclectic Paperie are sponsoring this weeks challenge.

Regular readers will know that I recently participated in Tim’s Creative Chemistry 101 classes, and the Marbled Stains technique was one of the classes. I loved it then, and throughly enjoyed having an excuse to have another play.

I started out by cutting a sheet of Manila card stock into three strips. I then coloured each strip in three differing colours of Marbled Stain.

20120503-155648.jpg

I then die cut all three strips using the Sizzix Tattered Flower Garland. I then distressed the edges of each flower and leaf using Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

20120503-160830.jpg

Next I stamped a little princess girlie that I found in my stamp stash onto water colour paper. I think she’s a Magnolia Tilda but couldn’t swear to it.

20120503-161022.jpg

I then used Distress Markers and a Ranger water pen to colour her, drying her with my Heat Tool in between layers. I then distressed the edges of the paper using Pumice Stone and Vintage Photo Distress Inks.

20120503-161235.jpg

I then added a water coloured background using Pumice Stone and the new Shaded Lilac Distress Ink from the new spring line. But, I forgot to take a photo because I’m rubbish!

I took pages from My Minds Eye Be Happy pad, distressing the edges with Vintage Photo Distress Ink, before cutting them to size and matting them onto a Kraft card. I then matted the girlie onto a scrap of Core’Dinations, adding a journalling tag between the layers.

20120503-161945.jpg

Next I added a tiny doily onto the card and affixed the girlie over the top. I then layered the Marbled Stain Flowers together and attached them to the card using Glossy Accents. I added tiny pearls to the centres.

20120503-162138.jpg

20120503-162200.jpg

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patch
    May 03, 2012 @ 19:12:45

    She’s sweet and I love the flowers. You put a lot of effort into your creations 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sandy Dehon
    May 03, 2012 @ 20:21:09

    Your creation is so very creative – I love it!!!!!
    sandy

    Reply

  3. iamvics
    May 04, 2012 @ 05:08:15

    Your card is stunning!

    Reply

  4. EmeralDQueen
    May 04, 2012 @ 13:58:22

    This is such a pretty card I like the way you use your distress markers. Love it!!!

    Reply

  5. Linda Ledbetter
    May 06, 2012 @ 14:53:00

    Fantastic tag, Zoe! I love those flowers– what a great approach to the marbled stains!– and the entire piece is so artistic and sophisticated. Thanks for sharing this at the CC2 Challenge– it’s wonderful!

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

