Compendium of Curiosities 2 Challenge – Week 2

Well, here I am, leaving my entry to this weeks Compendium of Curiosities 2 Challenge until the last moment again. I actually started the project last weekend, but, as is typical for me, got half way through and had another idea and went with that instead!

This weeks CC2C is Tim Holtz’s Faux Patina, found on page 58 of Compendium of Curiosities 2. And oh boy, what a fun technique it is. I had to stop myself from applying it to every embellishment in my stash!

Anyhoo, this Sunday is my baby girls very first birthday and I had decided to alter the box her first pair of shoes came in, to hold a few keepsakes from her first year. I decided to combine this plan with this weeks challenge.

20120426-132729.jpg

I started by applying a thin coat of Claudine Hellmuth white Gesso to the entire box, setting it aside to dry.

20120426-132839.jpg

Next I gave the entire box two coats of Claudine Hellmuth Pale Yellow Studio Paint. Leaving it to dry between coats. Once the final coat was completely dry, I sanded the edges and corners before liberally applying Gathered Twigs Distress Ink with my Ink Blending Tool. I also applied the ink in streaks across the yellow sides and top to further distress the paint.

20120426-133818.jpg

Next I die cut white card using Tim’s Vintage Lace Strip Die. I then spent what felt like an hour using a Pokey Tool to remove all the tiny punched holes. It’s a labour of love, but the end result is totally worth the time spent.

20120426-134050.jpg

I then sprayed the lace pieces with Heirloom Gold Perfect Pearl Mist, drying it with my Heat Tool. I then coloured the edges with Gathered Twigs Distress Ink on my Ink Blending Tool.

20120426-152946.jpg

I then glued the lace strips to my box using Matt Multi Medium. Next I added Idea-ology Foundations Box Feet that had been treated to the Faux Patina technique (buy the book to see how it’s done) to the box using both Matt Multi Medium and Long Fasteners pierced through the base. I also added an Idea-ology Curio Knob to the lid of the box.

20120426-153447.jpg

Next I added an Idea-ology Keyhole, again treated to the Faux Patina.

20120426-153657.jpg

Next, I took an Idea-ology Ornate Plate and gave it the Faux Patina treatment. I then cut the matching insert from the Tag and Bookplates Die and painted it with Gold and Pitch Black Paint Dabbers. I stamped my daughters name onto the insert using vintage letter stamps. I then affixed it into the Ornate Plate and coated it with Crackle Accents. Once dry, I attached it to the lid of the box using Matt Multi Medium. I inked a blue paper rose with Gathered Twigs Distress Ink and attached it next to the Ornate Plate using a hot glue gun.

20120426-161122.jpg

I took an Idea-ology Word Stick and dabbed it with Stream Paint Dabber to highlight the word ‘Kiss’. I then added a Jump Ring and a Charm Clip and set it aside. I also took a Locket Key and again added a Jump Ring and a Charm Clip. Next I took a Journal Ticket and stamped ‘My Daughter. My Heart. My World’ onto it using my vintage letter stamps. I then inked the edges using Gathered Twigs Distress Ink. I then took the letters X and O from the new Idea-ology Alpha Cards and affixed both the Alpha Cards and the Journal Ticket together using a Hinge Clip.

I then attached a Mini Doily to the lid of my box using Matt Multi Medium, and affixed the Clipped tickets over the top using Multi Medium. I then used a glue gun to affix paper roses around the tickets and attached the Key and the Word Stick to the Hinge Clip. I then glued a Pen Nib to the Journal Ticket and a number one from the new Mini Numerals that I’d also patinaed (I don’t think that’s a word, is it?!) and called it done.

20120426-161944.jpg

20120426-162001.jpg

20120426-162014.jpg

20120426-162029.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Ledbetter
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 20:09:42

    Zoe! This is BREATHTAKING!!! Oh, my gosh, what a wonderful keepsake. Your baby girl’s keepsakes have a gorgeous home in this precious altered box. Every detail is perfect. Thanks for sharing this beauty at the CC2C!

    Reply

  2. marjiekemper
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 01:41:49

    Zoe, this is gorgeous! Love the patina and all your embellishments.

    Reply

  3. iamvics
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 03:36:34

    Wonderful keepsake box!

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

