What’s on my Work Desk Wednesday

Well, I took the photos for today’s WOYWW and I cannot help but feel utterly ashamed. It’s not creatively messy anymore, it’s simply mess!

Here’s my desk as of ten minutes ago;

20120425-072625.jpg

There are not one but FIVE unfinished projects on my desk right now. The Crackle Paint glass jars, that I still haven’t gotten round to finishing. Two different projects for this weeks Compendium of Curiosities Challenge because I started one, then had another completely different idea. The (un)finished tag projects from Creative Chemistry 101 and an altered photo frame. Sheesh!

Anyway, getting to the point. I’ve decided that it’s time for a clear out and/or clean up. I mean, it’s not just my desk. It’s under my desk. It’s the floor. It’s even the stash cupboards.

20120425-073348.jpg

20120425-073407.jpg

I can’t find a thing when I need it, though you can guarantee that said thing will not only be found, but in my way when I don’t need it! So, next week, (unless I trash it again in the meantime) you’ll see a completely organised and tidy craft space. Honest!

Finally, I apologise for not getting around many spaces last week. My lovely 8 month old rescue kitten, Dave, became poorly last Wednesday, and upon rushing him to the vet we learned that he had a terminal illness and had to be put to sleep. Devastated doesn’t cover it, but I’m glad we found it quickly and that he isn’t suffering.

20120425-073851.jpg

Wishing you all a wonderful Wednesday, see you next week!

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KeshiaM.Fowler
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 06:54:10

    Reblogged this on Keshiamfowler's Blog.

    Reply

  2. inkyminxy
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 08:04:10

    OMG How adorable is the Kitty, hope Dave is all better now.
    That sure is one mess you got, but poorly kittys take preference over tidying stash.
    Good luck with the clear up.
    Happy WOYWW
    Minxy #39

    Reply

  3. Eliza
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 08:39:09

    So, so sorry to hear about the kitty, they have a way of pulling our heart strings, cyber hugs being sent to you. Don’t worry about the mess it will be there tomorrow, just think of it as a creative mountain in the making….. Good luck with the sorting project.

    Eliza #26

    Reply

  4. Tuire
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:01:49

    I have the same problem with my whole working room – everything piled one on another… and then you need the lowest!
    Poor little kitten! HeΒ΄s so beautiful!
    Happy WOYWW!
    Tuire #40

    Reply

  5. Twiglet
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:45:08

    I have just given my kitchen a good tidy up and even cleaned cupboards and drawers – noone will notice but at least I feel better!!! I am not naturally a tidy person so I have sympathy with you on the state of your craft room er maybe that’s why you don’t see my workspace today !!!

    Reply

  6. traceymetcalfe
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:51:52

    Oh poor you! Sending hugs trace x

    Reply

  7. astridchristine
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:02:48

    Poor kitty, it looks just so adorable….

    Yes, your desk does look as if it can do with a tidy, thanks for sharing it even so (he, he, it will make a lot of us feel just a little bit better…, I know not a nice thing to say…) Wish you lots of good luck with the clean up though and just think how much better you’ll feel!!

    Reply

  8. Trish Latimer
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:18:34

    So sorry about the kitty 😦
    I bet you’ll get loads of inspiration when you clear up…I always do!! Trish #50

    Reply

  9. vicky
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:23:46

    thank you for the look around your crafting space today
    massive hugs on the loss of your kitten
    vicky #104 woyww
    http://angeldrummer.blogspot.co.uk/
    Ps I also have saturated canary candy on my blog

    Reply

  10. Karen
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:57:49

    I was so sorry to read about your poor, cute kitty, how sad [[hugs]]. I bet you will find things you forgot you even had once you start to have a tidy up, although I do love your desk photos!!

    Have a great WOYWW and a fab week, Luv Karen xx #75

    Reply

  11. Polly Polkadot
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:27:30

    My desk is sinking under ‘stuff’ at the mo. Too many thoughts in my head I feel. So do I need an over locker to add to those thoughts? Nope, but I’ve made my mind up!

    Reply

  12. Lunch Lady Jan
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:39:03

    Poor little Dave – I’m sad just sitting here – sending you a big hug through the Interweb. I know they’re only cats, but they do get into your heart – I’ve had a few moggies in my time and they’re all different and I still miss them.
    Mad desk – if it’s annoying you you gotta do something about it! Sort out any papers you don’t want (be strong, you can do it!) and give them to your nearest school or Brownie pack – they’ll love you for it πŸ™‚
    Hugs, LLJ #33 xx

    Reply

  13. Sunshine Girl
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:49:44

    Oh no so sorry to hear about your kitten. A good tidy up will get your creative juices flowing and you will have some of those projects finished in no time then! Thanks for sharing – Sunshine Girl No. 20

    Reply

  14. Julia Dunnit
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 13:55:27

    Aw bless you for looking after Dave so well, even if it doesn’t feel like it. Poor little kitty. A good cathartic sort out sounds just the ticket…but beware – if it was my space, it would take more than a week!!

    Reply

  15. Karen
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 15:08:26

    Poor little Dave, at least he had a happy 8 months with you. So sad. Hate to hear of it happening to kitties, but sometimes it’s the only thing you can do and the best for the kitty. They break our hearts every time. RIP Dave. Karen 151 x

    Reply

  16. the weekend artist
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 15:17:16

    My workdesk also needs a big tidying up so don’t punish yourself it is a result of creativity=). So sorry about your cat though =(

    first-timer WOYWW
    #54

    Reply

  17. may
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 15:22:49

    Poor wee Dave, at least he did not suffer thanks to you, a very much loved wee kitty RIP Dave x x x Hugs May x x x No10

    Reply

  18. butlersabroad
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 15:47:02

    Oh how sad that your lost your sweet little kitty, but very good that he didn’t suffer too, not much of a consolation though. Brilliant desk for snooping around but when it get’s too much it’s gotta go! Good luck with the tidy up, I’ll be back next week to keep you to your promise!!!

    Hugs
    Brenda 118

    Reply

  19. Spyder
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 15:47:47

    aw, poor dave, that is sad.
    Yes I know what you mean!! I mean that too,(Uh?) about the desk, mine too, ‘It’s not creatively messy anymore, it’s simply mess!’ But what a lovely mess!!
    The clown on my desk is this weeks freebie, so send me your email and I’ll send him to you!
    (Lyn Happy WOYWW! (100 and something…that sounds so old!)

    Reply

  20. Laura
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 15:52:05

    Aw, sorry to hear about Dave. 😦
    Laura desk no. 111

    Reply

  21. Nadia
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 16:00:37

    I am so sorry about Dave. Aside from the giant ears, he looks so much like my furry family member, Feather.

    Well, your desk looks fascinating– and with three projects going, I am even jealous!

    Thank you for visiting me for WOYWW! And thank you for your kind comments! Happy WOYWW!

    Nadia

    Reply

  22. Zoe Young Kirkby (@CraftygasheadZo)
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 16:08:00

    Sorry to hear about your kitty. Good luck with the tidy up, stash is fab when you can find it! Enjoy WOYWW, am working through the list in shifts! Take care Zo xx 77

    Reply

  23. kay
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 17:48:41

    so sorry to hear about your cat,know how devasting it is,still grieving for my one,but you have done the right thing,sending a hug
    now when do you want me to come around and help you reorganise πŸ™‚
    have a crafty week and
    happy woyww
    kay #98

    Reply

  24. kyla
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 18:04:53

    poor kitty, but what a creative space…and FIVE projects on the go?!! Wow that’s busy.
    Thanks for visiting my desk already
    kyla #137

    Reply

  25. Tracy Cook Swartz
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 19:12:53

    I’m so sorry to hear about your kitty. 😦 Well with five project going it’s no wonder your space is a delightful mess! Happy WOYWW and thank you for visiting my blog! – warmly, Tracy #100

    Reply

  26. Morti
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 19:43:21

    LOL your desk and craft space looks like mine normally does, so don’t worry – you’re in good company!

    So sorry to hear about little Dave – hugs to you and yours, and like you said, at least he hasn’t had to suffer…

    Reply

  27. Vickie Doswell
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 20:06:50

    sorry to hear about Dave! I had 3 male cats to die in an 18 mo period and it was devasting with each one! I now have 2 girl cats and life is so different with them then with the boys! Your desk is a delightful mess! I love it and resemble it. I keep each project I am working on in its own box on the floor otherwise I would never find anything either. ( 9 boxes right now!) Have a great week and thanks for commenting on my blog! Vickie #41

    Reply

  28. Hazel
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 21:00:36

    Oh poor poor kitten and poor you – what an awful shock and so sad so young. There’s loads of creativity going on in your space, so no wonder it is a bit messy – look forward to seeing the transformation – (Hazel, #173) x

    Reply

  29. janet
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 21:32:10

    I guess we all need to tidy up now and again. . . sadly it cuts into crafting time doesn’t it. So Sorry to hear about your Kitten, at least he didnt suffer.
    janet #29

    Reply

  30. RosC
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 02:01:55

    Dave was such a dear little bloke. I just love this photo of him, and very sad he had such a bad illness.
    No wonder you’re distracted and all over the place. Only thing to do is (as you say) clear the decks, put each project in a box or something, and do one at a time. Be assured, you ain’t got it on your own!!! And thank you for looking in.
    Ros. #27

    Reply

  31. deeyll
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 04:40:16

    That is such a bummer about your kitty. My brother-in-laws name is Dave, on a side note. Just a random fact…
    Hope your organizing project cheers you up…I love to have an organizing spree because I always end up finding stuff I forgot about! You have lots of potential in that wall right in front of your workspace anyways…I put up pegboard and love it.
    #189~Deeyll

    Reply

  32. deeyll
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 04:43:47

    I think my other comment got lost…I am very sorry about your kitty, though.
    Hopefully your organizing spree will cheer you up. I love to organize because I always end up finding stuff I’ve forgotten about! You’ve got a great space in that wall in front of your desk…its begging for shelves or pegboard…
    πŸ™‚
    #189~Deeyll

    Reply

  33. Wipso
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 07:32:44

    So sorry to hear about Dave. A good spring clean will fill the sad minutes πŸ™‚
    Hugs
    A x #38
    ps thanks for calling by my blog.

    Reply

  34. Glenda
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 09:11:16

    sorry to hear of your loss! But just look at that desk! I could never find a thing! I’m getting old and lose things lying in plain sight! Thanks for sharing! Glenda#103

    Reply

  35. Tertia
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:56:27

    So sorry to hear about the loss of your kitten.
    My desk also looked something like yours when I took the photo for WOYWW and I was so ashamed when I saw it that I actually cleaned, which is why I only get to you today.
    Happy WOYWW

    Reply

  36. SusanLotus
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 14:30:53

    So sad to hear about Dave. :..(

    Your desk is a totall mess! Like mine.

    Happy WOYWW to you.
    Susan, nr 92

    Reply

  37. Judy Mattson Palmer
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 18:01:24

    Oh, I am so sad about your kitty. I’m glad he didn’t have to suffer though. I think you take the cake for messy desks this WOYWW, although I’ve seen some contenders who are giving you a run for your money. I hate it when everything becomes a disaster, not just the desk, but the shelves, the cupboards, the floor, the everything. But think of it like Christmas–you’ll find all sorts of wonderful things in there once you start poking through it. You must tell us what makes that paper cutter look like it is just sticking to the wall! Princess Judy #157

    Reply

  38. Bridget Larsen
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 16:16:18

    Well I dont feel so bad about the rubbish I have to clean up someday soon. Actually the mess makes us all very productive NO/YES hee hee
    Bridget #1

    Reply

  39. Elizabeth
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:54:49

    So sorry to hear about Dave, it’s a devastating loss. We lost our rescued ginger kitten, Thomas, in similar circumstances and although it is almost 14 years ago now we still haven’t forgotten him, he was such a dear wee thing. Rescued kittens/cats can come from the most dreadful conditions, it’s no wonder they succumb to fatal illnesses. Just for a while Dave was loved and cared for and that has to be a consolation. As for your desk, etc., it’s well messy. Good luck with the clear up – just don’t get too distracted when you find all sorts of stuff you’ve forgotten you had and go off in a tangent by starting yet another project – keep your eye on the prize, a clean and clear desk and craft space πŸ™‚ Hope you have a good weekend. Elizabeth x #113

    Reply

  40. Neet
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:38:15

    Oh I am so sorry to hear about your kitten. You were so kind to make the decision and go with it.
    As for your desk – area – well, yes, I think a tidy is in order.
    Sorry I am so late – you will see why in my next WOYWW posting – the new cupboard took a lot of organising. Thanks for visiting and for sharing your stash. Hugs, Neet #3 xx

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

