Compendium of Curiosities 2 Challenge – Week 1

What a fun, inky, messy day I’ve had today! Deciding to play along with the talented Linda Ledbetter’s Compendium of Curiosities 2 Challenge was definitely one of my better ideas. Despite the fact that I’ve left it to the very last minute! I’ve had such a blast!

In case it’s not immediately obvious, the challenge is to complete various techniques from Tim Holtz newest compendium of curiosities. This weeks being the custom stamp technique found on page 66. The lovely folks over at Simon Says Stamp are offering up a voucher for their store for the winner.

I started off by cutting the Sewing Room Die from Grunge Board.

20120419-193933.jpg

Then I cut the bodice of the dress form once again from Foil Tape.

20120419-194037.jpg

I then placed the Foil Tape bodice inside the Riveted Metal Texture Fade and ran it through my Big Shot. I then dabbed it with a little Pitch Black paint dabber and set it aside.

20120419-194356.jpg

Next I cut the stand from the Grunge Board bodice and inked it using Rusty Hinge and Vintage Photo Distress Inks. I then sprinkled it with Vintage Photo embossing powder and used my Heat Tool to emboss it. Once cool, I brushed away the release crystals and inked again with Rusty Hinge Distress Ink.

20120419-194604.jpg

I then die cut the wings from the Heart Wings Alterations die using a scrap of chipboard. I then coated them in Picket Fence Crackle Paint and set them aside to dry. Once dry I dabbed a little Pitch Black paint dabber along the edges. Then pressed them into Clear Embossing Ink and coated them in UTEE, melting it with my Heat Tool. I gave them two more coats with UTEE and set them aside to cool.

20120419-195004.jpg

Next I created my background using the Custom Stamp technique from Compendium of Curiosities 2 on a piece of Claudine Hellmuth’s Sticky Back Canvas. (No instructions here, you’ll have to buy Tim’s book! 😉 )

20120419-195559.jpg

I attached my canvas to a Kraft tag and added faux stitching with a white journaling pen.

20120419-195704.jpg

I took the Grunge Cotton Reel cut from the Sewing Room die and coloured it with Gold and Pitch Black paint dabbers. I then coloured a strip of parcel string with Silver paint dabber, and once dry wound it around the reel along with a length of silver bead chain. I then added a Mini Pin from Tim’s new Idealogy releases.

Next I cut a Movers & Shapers Heart from Shrink Plastic, colouring it red with a ProMarker before shrinking it with my Heat Tool. I then used Matt Multi Medium to glue it to my dress form.

I attached my dress form and cotton reel to my tag using double sided sticky foam, and gued the wings underneath using Matt Multi Medium. Also using Matt Multi Medium to attach an Ideaology Crown above the dress form (I removed the loop by snipping it with my Tonic Scissors) I then added a couple of Ideaology gears held together with a Long Fastener, punched through the tag. I then glued a few Mini Gears to the side of the tag and called it done.

20120419-200514.jpg

20120419-200527.jpg

20120419-200543.jpg

20120419-200601.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iamvics
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 22:26:56

    So fabulous!

    Reply

  2. Patch
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 11:28:03

    Very Steampunk. It’s great.

    Reply

  3. Linda Ledbetter
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 21:43:57

    Holy cow, this is breathtaking, Zoe! What a spectacular work of art. You use of the CC2C technique is great, and the metal dress form is SO cool! Every detail is perfect. I’m in awe– you are one talented lady!!! Thanks so much for being part of the challenge– can’t wait to see more!

    Reply

  4. SusanLotus
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 14:33:31

    Gorgeous tag!

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

