12 Tags of 2012 – April

Oh my, it feels like ever such a long time since I last blogged. The Easter holidays really played havoc with my crafting time, and I confess this tag was my first foray back into inky goodness for almost two whole weeks!

Anyhoo, what better way to create a mess than with Tim Holtz’s 12 Tags of 2012

I started by cutting the Bird Branch die from grunge board. I then cut the bird from the branch, and inked the branch with Vintage Photo and Walnut Stain Distress inks using my Ink Blending Tool. I then coated the branch with Vintage Photo Embossing Powder, heat setting it with my Heat Tool. I then sprinkled a little Ranger Queen’s Gold embossing powder over the top, and heat set it. Next, I sprinkled a touch of Peeled Paint Embossing Powder onto the ends of the branch, before heat setting it and leaving it to cool. Once cool I gently removed the release crystals and set it aside.

Next I inked the bird using Stormy sky, Chipped Sapphire, Walnut Stain and Wild Honey Distress inks on my Ink Blending Tool. Adding an eye with a black marker and giving the beak and eye a little shine with Glossy Accents. I then spread a thin layer of Rock Candy Distress Stickles over the feathered part of the bird before setting it aside to dry.

I cut a tag from Ranger Manilla Card using my Tag and Bookplate die, before following Tim’s instructions for embossing and using the Reflections stamp. I then added colour with Stormy Sky, Chipped Sapphire, Dusty Concord and Wild Honey Distress inks on my Ink Blending Tool. Then I distressed the edges of the tag and inked it with Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

I then spritzed a little water onto my craft sheet and dabbed the tag into the droplets. I then heat set it before spraying the entire tag with Biscotti Perfect Pearl Mist and heat setting it once more.

20120417-181540.jpg

I used Glossy Accents to adhere the bird and branch to the tag, then added an Idealogy Crown using Matt Multi Medium to adhere it atop the bird’s head.

20120417-181821.jpg

I then added a Word Band to the bottom of the tag, using double sided sticky foam. I then threaded a little twine through either end of the Word Band and attached them to the tag using my Tiny Attacher.

20120417-182020.jpg

I finished the tag adding a length of Binding Ribbon coloured by swiping Dusty Concord Distress ink onto my craft sheet, spritzing it with Biscotti Perfect Pearl Mist and dipping the Ribbon into the droplets.

20120417-182523.jpg

And I’ve just noticed that I forgot to attach an Ideaology Key. D’oh!

20120417-182619.jpg

It’s a real shame that my camera didn’t pick up all the glitter and shine. It’s ever so pretty!

20120417-182708.jpg

See you next time!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. toccopolasam
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 17:40:36

    Wonderful, I want to touch it!

    Reply

  2. Sandy Dehon
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 20:29:25

    Wow , very nice. I am really just starting with Mr. Holtz. I find this so much fun!!
    Sandy

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

