Creative Chemistry 101- Day 3

I can hardly believe it, but here I am. Blogging three times in one week. It’s almost unnerving!

Day three of Creative Chemistry 101 was all about HRH Tim Holtz teaching us techniques using Archival Ink. We learned the Alcohol Ink Agates, Archival Resist and Stamping with Reflections techniques, and oh boy was it fun!

As I mentioned yesterday, I’ll be showing my original tags that I made alongside the videos and I’ll also show a card made using all three techniques.

Here are my original tags.

20120401-134915.jpg

The little bit of Manilla tag peeking through on the top of the middle tag is a good lesson to learn. Don’t use Glossy Accents to glue the reinforcer to the tag if you’re a messy gluer! D’oh!

Now, here I must apologise for the lack of step by step photographs. I have no excuse other than I am obviously rubbish and completely lost my head whilst making the card. I completely forgot to take photos. My head is hanging in shame, I promise.

Here’s my card.

20120401-135241.jpg

I decided to combine all three techniques into one card by using a sort of patchwork look, bound together with Tiny Attacher staples that had been coloured with Snow Cap Mixative.

The first technique was Alcohol Ink Agates. I applied Butterscotch, Gold Mixative, Eggplant, Pool, Raspberry, Red Pepper, and Bottle Alcohol Inks onto a felt pad on my ink blending tool and dabbed them onto half a piece of Ranger’s Glossy Paper. Once I was satisfied with the colour saturation I stamped over the top with Jet Black Archival Ink using the Retro Circles from Tim Holtz’s Stampers Anonymous Bitty Grunge stamp set. I then heat set it with my Heat Tool before cutting the page into 2″ x 2″ squares and matting it onto slightly larger squares of Mustard Seed Core’dinations and inking the edges with Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

20120401-135947.jpg

The next technique was Archival Resist. I started by stamping the Retro Circles stamp onto Ranger Glossy Paper using Chrome Yellow, Rose Madder, Aquamarine and Deep Purple Archival Inks. I then heat set them with my Heat Tool. Next, I rubbed Vintage Photo Distress Ink straight from the pad onto the paper, streaking in down the page then quickly buffing it with a muslin square. Then I added a little Peeled Paint and Fired Brick from the pad onto the page, again buffing it with the muslin. I then heat set it once more before cutting it into 2″x2″ squares and matting it onto Mustard Seed Core’dinations.

20120401-140606.jpg

The final technique was Stamping with Reflections. I used the Retro Circles Texture Fade and stamped it with Dictionary Reflections stamp using Coffee Archival ink, adding a square of Manilla cardstock before running it through my BigShot. I then inked my embossed page using Chipped Sapphire, Dusty Concord, Peeled Paint, Tumbled Glass, Faded Jeans, Fired Brick and Wild Honey Distress Inks and my Ink Blending Tool. I then cut the paper into squares and inked the edges with Vintage Photo Distress Ink. Next I pressed the squares into my Clear Embossing Distress pad and coated them in Ranger Ultra Thick Embossing Powder, melting it with my heat tool and letting them cool before matting them onto Mustard Seed Core’dinations and inking the edges again with Vintage Photo.

20120401-141106.jpg

I then attached all of the squares to a piece of Black Soot Core’dinations using a little Glossy Accents before stapling the pieces in a cris-cross style with my Tiny Attacher. I was deliberately messy with the staples, to give it a rougher look. I then inked each staple with Snow Cap Mixative. I then cut a small banner from white card and inked it with Peeled Paint Distress Ink and Distressed the edges with Vintage Photo before stamping it with the word ‘Wishes’ using my wood mounted letter stamps (they’re vintage so I’m not sure of the brand) I then attached the banner to the bottom right square using a Long Fastener through a Washer.

20120401-141908.jpg

I then took all of the letters to form the word ‘Birthday’ from Tim Holtz’s Ransom Alphabet and attached a letter per square. I then stuck the whole thing to a card and called it done.

20120401-142117.jpg

So there you have it, my version of Day Three 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. eler frisseller
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 18:43:40

    I love this card… it is great! Nice work!

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

