Creative Chemistry 101- Day 2

Here I am again, blogging twice in a week. It’s almost becoming a habit.. Well, actually I’m hoping to blog more than twice a week for the foreseeable, but, that really depends on my lord and mistress AKA Miss Amari Blossom, my 11 month old daughter. She’s a real slave driver I tell you!

Anyways, the final day of Creative Chemistry 101 with HRH Tim Holtz sadly came and went yesterday, so I’m finally ready so share my interpretations of Tim’s techniques. I must say though, it’s a lifetime class so do join up if you haven’t already and you too can have two weeks of Mr Holtz all to yourself.

Now, you’ll notice I have titled this post Day 2. No, I’m not going crazy with sleep deprivation. The first day wasn’t technique so much as knowledge and fascinating information, so no tags to share for Day 1.

Day 2 was Distress techniques, utilising Distress stamp pads to create Blended Distress/Spritz and Flick technique, Brushless watercolour technique and Wrinkle-free Distress technique. Fans of Mr Holtz will already be aware of these techniques, I know I was. But, I now know how to do them better, brighter, distressier.. Ahem.

I made my tags right alongside the videos, and what you see here is the first attempt. Mistakes and ugliness included. However, I then created cards utilising the techniques and hopefully did much better.

Here are my original tags:

20120331-175141.jpg

I’m really not fond of the watercolour technique one, the watercolour paper I used was cheap, lumpy and just rubbish. It made the technique incredibly difficult, but switching to ordinary white cardstock for the card helped a lot.

I decided to use all three techniques on one card, rather than three cards simply to save time. I started my creating my Blended Distress/Spritz and Flick background. I used Wild Honey, Spiced Marmalade and Rusty Hinge Distress inks to create my background, inking the edges with Vintage Photo.

20120331-190815.jpg

I then created my Brushless Watercolour using Wild Honey, Rusty Hinge, Spiced Marmalade, Evergreen Bough and Walnut Stain Distress Inks, on a stamp from the Nature’s Elements set by Tim Holtz and Stampers Anonymous. Inking the edges again with Vintage Photo.

20120331-191344.jpg

I used the Wrinkle-Free Distress technique next, using the same Distress ink palette of Wild Honey, Spiced Marmalade, Rusty Hinge and Vintage Photo on the edges.

20120331-191537.jpg

I then, stamped a quote from Tim Holtz’s Stampers Anonymous Stuff To Say stamp set with Walnut Stain and Black Soot Distress inks. I stamped the quote top and centre of the Wrinkle-Free paper, before embossing it with Ranger clear embossing powder.

20120331-193002.jpg

I then stamped the dried weed looking things (?) from Tim’s Stampers Anonymous Spring Sprung stamp set along the bottom edge of the page using Walnut Stain and Black Soot distress inks. I then wrapped parcel string around the paper, before matting it onto a piece of Distress Core’dinations (Wiild Honey..sensing a theme here!) that I’d pre-inked around the edges with Vintage Photo Distress ink.

20120331-192259.jpg

I then wrapped parcel string around the Watercolour piece, again matting it onto Wild Honey Core’dinations that had had the Vintage Photo treatment. I do so love Vintage Photo!

20120331-192428.jpg

I also matted my Spritz and Flick background onto inked Wild Honey Core’dinations before attaching it to my card base with Ranger’s glue stick. I also added Vintage Photo Core’dinations as corners. I then added a Hinge Clip to the top of my sentiment piece before attaching it to the card using both Matt Multi Medium and foam dots.

I then attached the water colour piece using Ranger’s glue stick before adding two Pen Nibs using Matt Multi Medium.

20120331-193131.jpg

20120331-193155.jpg
Do ignore the shiny bits.. I’m impatient and my glue wasn’t dry. I’m also the world’s messiest gluer..

And there you have it, my interpretation of Day Two of Creative Chemistry 101. I hope you like it, and hopefully the mistress will allow me the time to post about Day Three tomorrow. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. StrayCat
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 18:50:35

    Love the effect; gorgeous colours.

    Reply

  2. eler frisseller
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 18:25:43

    I love the paper and colors.. They are great! Nice Work!

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

