What’s On Your Work Desk Wednesday, again? Already? Really?

How can it possibly be Wednesday again? Wasn’t it Wednesday just a day or two ago? Life just seems to be rushing past at such a speed that I can barely keep a hold on it lately. Still, it’s time for WOYWW yet again.

As always seems to be the way, I have a million and one projects on the go. All in various stages of completion. But I’m finally learning to take pictures as I go, so you can expect plenty of detailed blogs soon. I also bought a memory card reader gadget for my iPad so I can take pictures using the proper camera, and not the blurred iPhone shots I keep treating you all to! Though, I should confess that it’s a DSLR camera rather than a ‘point and click’ so they mightn’t be too much better! I also confess that I forgot to charge it, so for today it’s blurred iPhone shots as usual. Sorry!

As of ten minutes ago, my desk looks like this;

20120321-075413.jpg

Yes, it’s messy. Again. I really cannot keep it tidy, and I’m trying to make peace with that.

But lookie, I have new and exciting additions to my stash. The beautiful Hero Arts newsprint stamp, and HRH Tim Holtz’s new bird branch die.

20120321-075733.jpg

20120321-075751.jpg

I’m also currently learning more than I ever thought possible by taking HRH Tim Holtz’s Creative Chemistry 101. If you haven’t signed up for this, please do. It’s wonderfully informative, easy to follow and can be taken at your own pace.

20120321-080316.jpg

Obviously I cannot share anything I have made during the class yet, but I’ll show everything once the class ends in two weeks.

Since I’ve shown nothing of any artistic interest, here’s a sneak peek at a background I’m making for a child’s birthday card.

20120321-080457.jpg

And some storage boxes I’m working on that I bought in the sale. (they were ugly Christmas themed gift boxes)

20120321-080847.jpg

And finally, in the interests of offering a Wednesday giggle. Another project of mine, is making my hair weird and interesting colours (I steadfastly refuse to grow up and act my 30 year old age!) Three weeks ago I went this colour;

20120321-081125.jpg

Blue was a complete nightmare that transferred onto everything that even vaguely looked in its direction. Including my lovely children! Blue children are never a good thing, so last Saturday I dyed it this colour;

20120321-081341.jpg

It gets some stares on the school run, let me tell you! I hope that raised a giggle or a wry smile at least! Right, I’m off to stalk this weeks desks. See you all next week!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patch
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 09:06:47

    Shame the blue came off on everything, it was lovely.

    Reply

  2. Trish Latimer
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 11:58:45

    LOVE the hair!!!! the blue was a bit katy perry tho, much prefer the pink!!! Trish #69

    Reply

  3. Karen
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 12:01:32

    Love the skill and crossbones, how did you do that? I have a great idea for a card if you could let me know!!! Love the hair colour too, the vivid pink must be handy when shopping, no one will miss you will they!!! LOL!!! Have fun with WOYWW. Karen 112 x

    Reply

    • CraftyMonki
      Mar 21, 2012 @ 12:14:08

      I’ll be blogging about the skull background soon, but the simple answer is; I used Tim Holtz seasonal mask (the skull) distress stains and perfect pearl mists.

      Reply

  4. Karen
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 12:01:58

    Oops meant skull!!!!

    Reply

  5. Sioux
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 12:02:00

    Love the pink/purple hair…(the colours on my screen never seem quite right!) and the cool skull card in the making.
    xoxo Sioux
    P.S. I have no intention of ever growing old if I can help it! ROFL

    Reply

  6. Sophie Newton
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 13:58:49

    Love the splatter skulls and that new Hero stamp is amazing…must stop visiting everyone’s workspaces, it gives me far too many ideas for new thing to spend money on!
    Sophie no.88

    Reply

  7. may
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 14:35:51

    Love the hair, lots of fun on your desk love the skulls!!! I am going to sign up for Sir Timmie’s class I cant bear it any longer I need to be part of it, as so many of you WOYWWERS are on it and are having so much fun, Hugs May x x x x No9

    Reply

  8. Peggy
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 14:47:59

    Wednesdayโ€™s sure do come around quick! Trying again to make โ€œAllโ€ the rounds. I wish now I had joined in the TH class… bummer maybe if he does another one. I had to laugh .. I’m 50-something and had to color my hair just for fun and went Sharon Ozborne red… orginally dark brown LOL it’s just fun! Have a great day!

    Reply

  9. Lisa-Jane Johnson
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 15:41:38

    I’ve heard that about a lot of dyes but I think you are very brave and lots of fun! I love your boxes and your new stash too. #77

    Reply

  10. Miriam Grazier #111
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 16:23:24

    Lovely stash – LOVE the Hero Arts stamp!!!

    Reply

  11. Anne Rx
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 19:32:27

    And you have TH’s markers too, I only have 8 so far but love them. If you are anything like me you will use that newsprint stamp nearly every day on something or other. Love the skull and cross-bones. Like the purple hair too. Anne #66

    Reply

  12. eler frisseller
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 19:52:52

    Love the storage containers and the skulls… really cute. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  13. kay
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 19:55:01

    loving the pink hair,very funky,enjoy your lessons with timmie ๐Ÿ™‚
    #51

    Reply

  14. janet
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 22:03:11

    love the hair, I think the pink has it, but seriously ‘wrong with blue children? LOL
    janet #13

    Reply

  15. Lunch Lady Jan
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 08:29:40

    Love the hair! Although I don’t see what’s wrong with blue children – mine were all shades of browny-grey for years, no amount of bathtime scrubbing ever made them pink and glistening. They were boys who lived for mud!!! They’re quite clean these days at the ripe old ages of 18 and 15, but part of me still hankers after the grubbiness ๐Ÿ™‚
    Hugs, LLJ #68 xx

    Reply

  16. Julia Dunnit
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 08:36:15

    I love your hair, I have a colour changing daughter so am unshocked these days, and hey -it’s only self expression, she’s clean and polite if you’re brave enough to approach her! What made me laugh was your lovely trout pout…how come when I do it looks like someone licked my lips and stuck me to some glass? Love thebox make overs, and the skull and crossbones – is it resist paper or have you pre-stamped?

    Reply

  17. CraftyMonki
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 09:02:15

    You ladies leave the best comments! I’ve had such a giggle reading these.

    Right, I’ll try to answer questions. I do apologise if I miss any.

    The skulls were made using a Tim Holtz Mask (seasonal) and slamming over them with distress stain. They’re on cheap white cardstock, as I find the ink soaks in quicker.

    The blue children didn’t bother me a jot, but they did look like they perhaps had oxygen saturation problems. Haha!

    Thank you for all the lovely comments re my hair, it’s nice to be a little wild sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

    Finally, the trout pout comment had me crying laughing! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  18. Zoe Young Kirkby (@CraftygasheadZo)
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 13:36:04

    You’re not the only mad hair person, I dyed mine black with the blue sheen, which was lovely but a nightmare to dye afterwards! Love that pink! Thanks for sharing this WOYWW, It’s Thursday and I’m still snooping through the list! Take care Zo xx 22

    Reply

  19. trisha too
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 03:40:48

    Looks like some fun stuff on the workdesk, and the magenta hair is awesome on you!

    :)trisha
    #163

    Reply

  20. Darnell J Knauss
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 16:45:57

    Stunning job on those beautiful boxes!! And your hair is perfect for Spring!

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

