When it all goes horribly wrong..

Lookie see! I’m blogging twice in a week! Twice! Although, I’m not entirely sure this one deserves the publicity. I’m not fond of today’s creation, but I decided to blog it anyway to show that sometimes you end up with something that you really dislike!

I wanted to play along with the Grungy Monday challenge. I’ve followed the blog for a while now (you must follow it, it’s wonderful!) and this weeks challenge of using Tim Holtz 12 tags technique seemed like a fun one to start with. It. Was. Not! The technique is easy to do, and fun.. But it all went a little awry for me because of my collection of alcohol inks.

I don’t have very many alcohol inks, simply because I don’t use them very often. Slowly building my collection was not my friend in this instance, because I didn’t have any colours that weren’t BRIGHT. Yes, that deserves capitals. You’ll see why in a minute. Still, onwards I went with my BRIGHT alcohol inks.

I started by adding Raspberry, Butterscotch, Pool and Purple Twilight alcohol inks to my ink tool. I then toned the Raspberry slightly by dripping a little Snow Cap over the top. I then swiped the ink onto Ranger’s inkssentials Glossy Paper using Tim’s Technique. I then dripped a little Alcohol Blending Solution onto my page and set it aside to dry.

20120316-095059.jpg

Whilst that page was drying. I made another plaid page, this time using Ranger’s new Speciality Stamping Paper and Purple Twilight, Pool, Eggplant and Butterscotch alcohol inks. I love, love LOVE this paper!

20120316-095311.jpg

I then sprayed a mix of Adirondack Colour wash- Stream and Perfect Pearls – Pink Gumball and Perfect Pearl onto a piece of white card. Drying it with my heat tool. Once dry I stamped it all over with the Cross Hatch pattern from Tim Holtz’s Ultimate Grunge stamp set, with white ink. Heat setting it with my heat tool.

20120316-095650.jpg

Now it was around this point that a touch of panicky ‘I have no idea what I’m doing and I hate it all’ set in. Does anyone else’s crafting mojo just up and desert them when things run less than smoothly?!

Still, onwards. I then stamped the lovely ‘be yourself’ girlie from Tim Holtz’s Winged Things I stamp set onto Speciality Stamping Paper, then again onto Wendy Vecci’s Clearly For Art modelling film, and finally onto a corner of the pink toned Plaid I’d made earlier, using Archival Ink in Jet Black. I then heat set all three, before cutting the girlie without the wings from the stamping paper, and the wings only from the plaid and modelling film.

I then coloured my girlie using Tim’s Distress Markers in Tumbled Glass, Picket Fence, Tattered Rose, Victorian Velvet, Vintage Photo, Stormy Sky, Fired Brick and Wild Honey. I then used Ranger’s detail water brush to tone the colour down and give it a water colour look.

I then took a tiny doily and coloured it with Forest Moss Distress Marker before spritzing it liberally with perfect pearl mist and during it with my heat tool.

By now, I was very definitely in ‘oh my god, it’s wholly awful and hateful and what am I going to do, I don’t want to start again, it’s so wasteful’ mode. And honestly, I simply thought sod it and decided to assemble it all as a card for an alternative teenager. A cop out, but there you have it.

I decided to stamp the numbers from Tim’s Fairytale Frenzy stamp set, in Jet Black Archival all over the pink toned plaid, to give it a slightly edgy look now I had a recipient in mind. I roughly stamped it, leaving patches and turning the stamp upside down occasionally.

20120316-103916.jpg

I then assembled it into a card, layering the pink toned plaid under the stream misted card, then adding the purple toned plaid on top. I then added the tiny doily and my girlie, with the plaid wings placed in their normal position then the modelling film wings slightly offset over those.

20120316-104139.jpg

This was the point where I realised I’d forgotten to distress and colour the edges of my pages. I may have muttered some very bad words.

20120316-104301.jpg

So there you have it, my gaudy and super BRIGHT attempt at this weeks Grungy Monday Challenge. I think it’s safe to say that I will not be winning anything from Simon Says Stamp. Haha!

In all honesty, it was really difficult for me to post something that went really wrong and that I hated. But I follow so many inspiring blogs where every post is something that is perfect, that it’s almost a little disheartening. Surely everyone makes something they dislike occasionally? Everyone must suffer the lack of craft mojo, or is that only me? Either way, I think it’s important to show the failures to. And oh boy, was this!

I think I need a lie down!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 12:37:43

    Hi Zoe, I think your card is great and your post is greater!! You carried me along with you and you are right. It doesn’t always go to plan. There is many a teenager out there that would love to receive your card. Hope you had a chocolate biscuit with your lie down 🙂

    Reply

  2. Patch
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 13:05:11

    Hurrah for blogging about things that don’t turn out as planned! I fully intend to include my messes, mistakes and disasters in my blog. It’s all a learning curve, you have learned through the process, maybe your readers will learn from it too. I think your card has potential, you need to have another go, change it slightly, see if it works better. I think the colours are fine but there might be a teeny bit too much pattern on there, maybe??

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

