What’s On Your Work Desk Wednesday

I am a bad blog owner.

There, I said it. Rest assured, my head is hanging in shame. It’s been a whole week since I last showed my poor blog any attention. I fully blame this face..

20120314-100636.jpg

And also, this face..

20120314-100729.jpg

They are terribly rude and awful children, who actually expect me to attend to their every whim! They care not for my crafting or blogging needs! Can you even contemplate such a controlling regime in your own home?! They use their cheeky smiles and abnormally huge and hypnotically beautiful blue eyes to control my every waking moment. Hah! My babies are awesome!

Anyways, explanations of my neglectful blogging aside. My work desk looks like this right now.

20120314-101205.jpg

But before you think I’m being all smug and showing off my tidy (ish) space. I must confess that an hour ago it looked like this..

20120314-101321.jpg

I’m currently working on a couple of Mothers day cards, as it’s mothering Sunday here in the UK this weekend. They’re not yet finished so for now I’ll just show a few sneak peeks. I will admit that one of them is less a mothers day card and more an excuse to try out something from Tim Holtz’s Compendium of Curiosities II. If you haven’t got it yet, buy it! It’s simply wonderful!

20120314-101655.jpg

20120314-101716.jpg

20120314-101735.jpg

20120314-101752.jpg

Now, I know you’ve all been at the edge of your seats wondering what on earth happened to last weeks jars. Well, the eagle eyed amongst you will notice that they’re currently sitting unfinished on my desk holding all 37 colours of Tim Holtz’s new Distress Markers. Yes, I said all 37! My awesome husband paid (a frankly extortionate sum) for each and every one separately! He earned major brownie points for that! I’m going off on a tangent again aren’t I?

The jars are covered in crackle paint, with varying degrees of success. The brown one was covered in Distress Crackle Rock Candy on a base of Matt Multi Medium. It did not work! It all began to fake off when I added the Vintage Photo Distress stain. I covered it in another layer of Multi Medium which kept it intact but it’s not the best looking thing in the world. Ho-hum. Trial and error.

20120314-102444.jpg

The green (ish) one was covered in Rock Candy over a base of Ranger’s Glue & Seal. And it worked perfectly. I then covered in in a layer of Shabby Shutters Distress Stain but that’s as far as I’ve gotten.

20120314-102702.jpg

The terrible looking, runny and patchy silvery one was painted with Pewter Crackle over Glue & Seal base. It looks awful! The pewter didn’t crackle so much as drip then dry in a streaky fashion. I’ll be scraping this one and starting again.

20120314-103020.jpg

My word, this post is picture heavy! This is what happens when you’re neglectful, in your guilt haze you throw everything at it! Sorry about that!

Let me finish up with one more picture though. My awesome son made me a tag at school! He loves watching me craft, and seems to love my versions of 12 tags of 2012 so he came home with this! Isn’t it great?

20120314-103255.jpg

20120314-103309.jpg

If you’ve gotten this far, thank you ever so much for visiting and persevering through my endless waffle and bad photos! Love to you all and happy WOYWW

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. may
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 14:21:00

    Beautiful children you have , x x Lots of great makes on your desk this week, Have a fun week, Hugs May x x x x

    Reply

  2. Sandee Setliff
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 22:07:48

    Awwww aren’t children demanding, wanting to be fed, hugged and kissed, I feel so sorry for you….NOT! lol They are beautiful! Your jars are turning out in true TH fashion and I love them, I see nothing wrong with any of them!! waving hi from the warm and sunny hills of North Carolina 🙂

    Reply

  3. Zoe Young Kirkby (@CraftygasheadZo)
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 11:01:58

    What great pics, the jars look fab. I haven’t got my hands on Distress markers but know I will at some point! Take care, it’s now Thursday, but I’m still snooping the WOYWW desks of the world! Zo xx 33

    Reply

  4. sandra's crafty corner
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:58:05

    fabulous piccies of the kiddies hun, i too have 2 little ones that demand alot of my what would be crafty time lol,
    also that desk looks better messy lol,happy belated woyww,
    hugs sandra xxx

    Reply

  5. kay
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 20:51:24

    they certainly look cheeky,fab pics,enjoy your new distress pens and what a fab tag from your son,x

    Reply

  6. Julia Dunnit
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 09:12:46

    Aw you babies are gorgeous, what a distraction! LOVE the before and after photos of your desk, really made me smile. And wonder how you make time for such stuff! Loving the sneak peeks of your Mother’s Day cards – WOW!

    Reply

  7. Spyder
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 08:48:00

    well you’ve made up for it, loads to look at, you’ve been very busy! Thanks for my snoop, have a great crafting weekend,
    HaPpY VeRy LaTe WoYwW!
    ((Lyn)
    for some reason I can’t use my normal email, it keeps saying I have to log in!! as it’s already used in a worldpress account…dah, yes me! It’s never done that before, and won’t let me login (?)…so I’ve re-typed and tried again with a different email!!

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

