What’s on your work desk Wednesday.

It’s Wednesday, and my blog is finally online! That means it must be time to lose my WOYWW virginity. True to the cause, it’s embarrassing, clumsy and oh so messy, but here is my desk as it stands today.

20120307-123422.jpg

I’m an incredibly messy crafter. My desk is pretty big but I always end up working in the teensiest portion of it because I can’t help but have stuff and things everywhere! The desk, the floor, my lap.. I will one day learn to clear as I go. But that day is not today.

I’m currently attempting to upcycle, distress (generally make a mess of) some glass coffee jars. The first one looked amazing until I touched it and all my hard work slid off onto the carpet! So now I’m playing around with ways to add enough ‘tooth’ to the glass so my crackle paint decorates the glass and not the floor. Hopefully I’ll make it work and post about it in the next few days.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gwen at Foxglove Hill/
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 13:09:35

    I would be interested to see your completed coffee jar project. I also started playing with jars last week….see you again soon.
    xx 125

    Reply

  2. Belinda
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 14:33:50

    Yip, I too have found that crackle paint does NOT like to stick on slick surfaces.

    Reply

  3. sandee
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 18:03:59

    mmm..would gesso work if applied first? I know it would mean an opaque look to your jar, but it would provide the tooth needed for the crackle to stick! and WOYWW virgin, HA!, no more huh?…wait, what does that make the rest of us? lmao and waving hi from the beautiful hills of North Carolina 🙂

    Reply

  4. Karen
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 18:15:09

    Interesting project you have there, I look forward to seeing the end result 🙂

    Have a fab WOYWW and a great week, Luv Karen xx

    Reply

  5. CraftyMonki
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 19:30:22

    Thank you for the lovely comments, you’ve all made me smile today.

    As for the Gesso, great minds must think alike. I have a jar covered in it awaiting the next step as we speak 🙂

    Reply

  6. yogi
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 21:12:50

    all the best with getting your crackle to stick to the jar. BIG GRIN.
    thanks for the peek. Have a great day

    Reply

  7. Caatje
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 08:44:58

    Maybe it helps to first do some layer of glass paint, then you have a base that at least sticks to the glass and can work on that. I have never tried this, it just came to me, so it may not work at all. Just thinking out loud here. Good luck!

    Reply

  8. Spyder
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 15:49:10

    Love jars I never like putting them in the recycling bin, I mean??? where do they go!?! I have so much fun ‘playing’ with them! Have a great crafty week. Thank you for my snoop! Happy WOYWW!
    ((Lyn)) was #27 now #26

    Reply

  9. Zoe Young Kirkby (@CraftygasheadZo)
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 09:46:54

    What a fab idea! I love jars. Take care & enjoy this week’s WOYWW, it’s now Friday & I’m still snooping! Zo xx 60

    Reply

  10. scrappymo!
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 22:05:46

    Keep us posted on your glass jar project! Welsome and see you next week.

    Reply

  11. Mari K.
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 05:54:08

    Messy desks are the happiest desks! Good luck with the crackle paint. I recently accidentally painted my nails with crackle polish. Boy was I shocked when they dried! -Mari #130

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

