12 tags of 2012 – March

Where does the time go? How on earth is it March already?

I’ve been a bit slapdash with crafting of late, I have about a million projects on the go, and not a one completed enough to blog about. Sigh. A bout of man flu and general parenting of a newly mobile and oh so curious 10 month old have also seriously cut into my creating time, but I’m hopeful that things are back on track and that I’ll be posting more work on a regular basis.

Anyways, as it’s March, it’s time for a brand new 12 tags of 2012 from HRH Tim Holtz.

Once again, I didn’t have all of the items Tim used, but this time I was quite pleased about that. Last month I pretty much copied Tim’s version as best I could and where’s the creativity in that? This month, Tim’s tag is rather dark and masculine, so I decided mine should be light and feminine.

I started out by making Tim’s mosaic butterflies. Quickly running into material problems. I didn’t have sheets of wonder tape, only the super thin tape, or the antiquities cement embossing powder. I did have generic double sided sticky sheets though and decided to try heat embossing onto them regardless. I have to say, I worked wonderfully, merely curling the wings slightly, which I would have done anyway! I call success! I made my faux grout by mixing together white, silver and sparkly embossing powders. I have to say, it’s nothing like grout, but I adore it and it really fits my lighter theme perfectly.

I made my butterflies following Tim’s instructions using papers from the vintage shabby pad and a grunge board base. Embossing them with my sparkly mix and finishing them with a fairly thick coat of Glossy Accents on the paper ’tiles’.

20120305-083838.jpg

20120305-083901.jpg

I really wish my photos did justice to the sparkle, but I am rubbish and took them on my iPhone again. I promise I’ll hunt down the camera proper at some point!

I then cut two tags from Kraft core, using the pale brown colour and Tim’s Tag and Bookplate die. I distressed the edges of the first tag, on the kraft side, using Tim’s distressing tool and inked the edges with vintage photo distress ink. I then tore the edges of the second tag, on the brown side, inked the edges with vintage photo and matted it onto the Kraft tag.

20120305-084509.jpg

Now at this point, I inked Tim’s new wood print stamp with aged mahogany distress ink and stamped my tag. And I HATED it. So I tried to tone it by swiping it with picket fence distress stain, but it was too white. Hey ho, thinks I, art is experimentation. So I spritzed the tag with water, and wiped it down with a soft, dry rag. It’s now a lovely muted colour and ready again for the wood print stamp. I then inked up my wood stamp again, this time with vintage photo distress ink, and stamped across the tag as per Tim’s instructions.

20120305-111803.jpg

Much better! I then spritzed it with a little Heirloom Gold Perfect Pearls before heat setting it with my heat tool.

Next, I turned my attentions to the metal foliage. As I wanted a softer look to my tag, I decided to emboss colour my foliage with distress embossing powder. I pressed my flowers into my distress embossing pad then dipped each one into a pot of embossing powder. I then heated them with my craft tool and re-dipped them in the powder once molten. I also sprinkled them with a little Ranger Bridal embossing tinsel for a little glittery sheen. Once cool I stacked them together and fixed them with a long fastener that had also had the embossing treatment.

20120305-112357.jpg

Next, I inked up my sentiment with Ranger Archival black and stamped.. Or attempted to stamp. My delightful 10 month old suddenly woke from her nap with an unholy racket, so I removed the stamp without having pressed down enough and it wasn’t complete! After settling the madam, I returned to the tag with a resigned thought of starting again. Since I had nothing to lose though, I decided to re-stamp the sentiment directly over the failed version. And wouldn’t you know it, it worked! With only the slightest drop shadow to betray my earlier failure. I decided to try embossing the sentiment to disguise the double image. Which also worked. I had no idea archival ink could be used to emboss! Oh happy days when mistakes work out well!

20120305-113012.jpg

Next I coloured a length of seam binding ribbon with Victorian velvet and picket fence distress stains, crumpling it and then drying it with my heat tool. Once dry I used the leftover vintage photo ink on my blending tool to dab the ribbon, distressing it. I then attached it to my tag using a strip of wonder tape, using the leftover length at the top of the tag.

I then pierced two holes either side of the ribbon, right through the tag, and attached my embossed foliage. Then affixed my mosaic butterflies and called it done! There you have it, my take on 12 tags of 2012 – March.

20120305-113507.jpg

20120305-120734.jpg

20120305-120750.jpg

20120305-120808.jpg

To create my tag I used;
Distress inks; Vintage Photo, clear embossing
Distress stains; Picket Fence, Victorian Velvet
Distress embossing powder; Broken China, Tattered Rose, Peeled Paint, Mustard Seed, Spiced Marmalde
Ranger Archival ink; Jet Black
Ranger Super fine detail embossing powder; Black, White
Ranger embossing tinsel; Bridal.
Cosmic shimmer embossing powder; Silver Shine Metallic
Perfect Pearl Mist; Heirloom Gold
Tim Holtz collection stamps; Stuff To Say, Wallpaper and Wood
Tim Holtz alterations movers & shapers die; Mini Butterflies
Tim holtz alterations Bigz die; Tag and Bookplate
Tim Holtz Kraft Core
Tim Holtz vintage shabby paper collection
Glossy accents
Wonder tape
Heat it craft tool
Tim Holtz grid blocks
Paper distressing tool

I really need to figure out how to just link the stuff used! Thank you so much for visiting, do feel free to leave comments 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Candy Colwell
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 12:20:09

    Very pretty tag! I love your butterflies and your enameled foliage! ❤ Candy

    Reply

  2. LizArt
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 06:44:42

    Lovely tag, the butterflies are perfect … i love it!

    Reply

Leave your musings, critiques and random ponderings here.

